Order for
Your shopping cart is empty.
Order for

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra


The RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra has been at the heart of Irish music-making since its foundation in 1948 and celebrated its 70th anniversary in February 2018. Through its year-long programmes of live performances and education and mentoring initiatives, the RTÉ NSO has nurtured generations of world-class musicians.

It has been critically acclaimed for its recordings across a variety of labels including Naxos, Claves and RTÉ lyric fm. It broadcasts on RTÉ lyric fm and internationally through the European Broadcasting Union. The orchestra is resident at the National Concert Hall and plays regularly most Friday evenings.

The list of guest artists and composers with whom the orchestra has worked is long and distinguished and features legendary names such as Josef Szigeti, Isaac Stern, Henryk Szering, Ruggiero Ricci, Wilhelm Kempff, Julius Katchen, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Martha Argerich, Radu Lupu, Joan Sutherland, Bernadette Greevy, Angela Gheorghiu, Kiri te Kanawa, Luciano Pavarotti, Plácido Domingo, José Carreras, Mstislav Rostropovich, Paul Tortelier, Barry Douglas, Sir James Galway, Constantin Silvestri, Charles Dutoit, Sir Charles Groves, Witold Lutosławski, Olivier Messiaen, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Steve Reich and Arvo Pärt.

The orchestra announced Nathalie Stutzmann as Principal Guest Conductor Designate in 2017. Nathalie will hold this position for three seasons.

In July 2018, the Government agreed in principal that the RTÉ NSO should come under the remit of the National Concert Hall. The decision was made on the back of the recommendations of the report on RTÉ Orchestras Ensuring a Sustainable Future by Helen Boaden and Mediatique.

Find out more about the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra here.