Order for
Your shopping cart is empty.
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2019/2020

Kinsella, Prokofiev, Sibelius

Friday 29th November 2019

Buy Tickets

John Kinsella World Premiere
& NCH Lifetime Achievement Award celebration

Please note: This concert will be preceded at 6.30pm by Soundings, the free pre-concert talk featuring John Kinsella in conversation with Séamus Crimmins

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Jean Deroyer conductor
Vadym Kholodenko piano

John Kinsella Symphony No. 11 WORLD PREMIERE / 28’
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3 / 27’
Sibelius Symphony No. 3 / 29’

A thrill-a-minute piano concerto, a rousing and vibrant symphony and the world premiere performance of an Irish master’s new symphony promises a night to remember.

The National Concert Hall is delighted to announce the prolific Irish composer and symphonist John Kinsella as the recipient of the National Concert Hall Lifetime Achievement Award for 2019. The award will be presented at this concert. Read more

The most popular of Prokofiev’s three Piano Concertos, the Third is an animated display of virtuoso fireworks combining eccentricity and humour to brilliant effect. A rollercoaster of a work, written with tongue firmly in cheek, it is guaranteed to leave you a little out of breath but with a huge, satisfying grin.

Sibelius’s Third Symphony finds the orchestra animatedly talking to itself: different sections taking turns to lead a conversation that moves from an energetic blend of scurrying peasant dances and hymn-like grandeur via gentle, poetic restraint to a rousing climax of orchestral power and potency.

A towering figure in contemporary Irish music, John Kinsella’s Symphony No.11 continues his life-long love for the evocative soundworld of Sibelius, the father of modern Finnish music. Dotted throughout the three-movement work are telling echoes of Sibelius’s Fourth and Seventh Symphonies, lit up by revealing use of solo trombone and glockenspiel – an unlikely but altogether mesmeric combination.

Joining the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra for this unmissable event are the ‘electrifying’ (ResMusica) conductor Jean Deroyer and ‘knockout’ (Bachtrack) pianist Vadym Kholodenko.

Presented by RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra