Order for
Your shopping cart is empty.
Login What's On

Vanbrugh Quartet
Media Release 20 October 2014

Composer Ian Wilson and the Vanbrugh Quartet bring audiences on a 200 year journey at the National Concert Hall

The first concert in Ian Wilson’s series ‘Scoring History’ featuring the Vanbrugh Quartet, will take place at the National Concert Hall, on Friday 7 November 2014 at 6pm. The series, which will be on over four consecutive Fridays and is part of the NCH Chamber Music Programme , will take audiences on a journey through 200 years of the string quartet canon.

Focused on four individual themes - Folk, Distant Lands, Conflict and Solitudes - each of the concerts is devised to “connect with some of the most important and transformative events in human history” (Ian Wilson). The series promises world-class performances of landmark pieces in fascinating combinations and the opening concert (Folk!) will feature Wilson, Kurtág and Dvořák.

The Vanbrugh Quartet - Gregory Ellis, Keith Pascoe, Simon Aspell and Christopher Marwood - are dedicated to bringing string quartet music to audiences throughout Ireland, having given around one thousand concerts in venues ranging from small country schools to the major city venues. Winners of the 1988 London International String Quartet Competition, the quartet has enjoyed a busy international career which has taken them throughout Europe, the Americas and the Far East, winning critical acclaim. Strad Magazine described the Quartet’s 25th Anniversary Beethoven cycle as “Awe-inspiring and infinitely moving” after they performed at London’s Cadogan Hall in November 2010.

Ian Wilson was awarded the first ever DPhil in composition by the University of Ulster in 1993, who also commissioned his orchestral work Rise in celebration of the tenth anniversary of its foundation. His music has been performed and broadcast on six continents at venues such as New York's Carnegie Hall, London's Royal Albert and Wigmore Halls, and the Ultima Festival in Oslo, where Running, Thinking, Finding for orchestra received the composition prize in 1991.

In 1998 Ian was elected to Aosdána, Ireland’s State-sponsored body of creative artists. From 2003-2011 he was director of the Sligo New Music Festival and he was Associate Composer with the Ulster Orchestra from 2010 – 2013.

The NCH Chamber Music Programme is supported by the Irish Times and RTÉ Lyric FM.

Tickets to the Vanbrugh Quartet at the National Concert Hall / Friday 7 November 2014, 6pm are €15 / NCH Box Office Tel: 01 417 00 00 or www.nch.ie


Wilson  Alluvio, quartet no. 15 (2014)
Kurtág  Hommage à Mihály András, 12 Microludes for string quartet (1978)
Wilson  Her charms invited, quartet no. 12 (2010)
Dvorák  String Quartet no. 12 in F major, Op. 96, American (1896)

Upcoming concerts for Vanbrugh Quartet Series at the National Concert Hall

Friday 14 November 2014, 6pm (Engineering Library)

Distant Lands

Wilson towards the Far Country, quartet no. 3 (1996)
Stravinsky Three Pieces for String Quartet (1918)
Debussy String Quartet (1893)

Friday 21 November 2014, 6pm (Engineering Library)


Wilson ...wander, darkling, quartet no. 5 (2000)
Shostakovich String Quartet No. 8 (1960)
Wilson Across a clear blue sky, quartet no. 10 (2009)
Beethoven Große Fuge, Op. 133 (1825)

Friday 28 November 2014, 6pm (Engineering Library)


Wilson im Schatten, quartet no. 11 (World Premiere)
Schubert String Quartet no. 13 in A minor, D.804, Rosamunde (1824)

For further information please contact: Ruth Moloney, Marketing Executive, National Concert Hall, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2. Tel: 01 417 0084 / 087 278 638