Order for
Your shopping cart is empty.
Login What's On

Musici Ireland
Media Release 17th June 2014

Schubert’s Trout Quintet on menu for Musici Ireland’s Lunchtime Concert Series at the National Concert Hall this August

The National Concert Hall and Musici Ireland - one of Ireland’s leading chamber ensembles - present a series of lunchtime concerts taking place every Thursday throughout August (7th -28th) at the National Concert Hall. Schubert’s well-known and much-loved Trout Quintet will be performed as well as music from the movies such as Cinema Paradiso, Scent of a Woman, The Gadfly and so much more.
Musici Ireland – made up of Helena Wood (violin), Joanne Quigley (violin), Beth McNinch (viola) and Grainne Hope (cello) - will also be joined by some of Ireland’s leading musicians such as the nationally and internationally renowned pianists Finghin Collins and Michael McHale, violinist Ioana Petcu-Colan and RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra’s 3rd Horn Bethan Watkeys.
In the opening concert of the series (Thursday 7th August at 1.05pm) Musici Ireland performs two major chamber works for Horn; Mozart’s Horn Quintet and Standford’s Fantasy for Horn and String Quartet in A minor featuring guest soloist Bethan Watkeys (horn) and the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra’s Concertmaster Helena Wood (violin).
This is followed by a concert (Thursday 14th of August at 1.05pm) featuring Ireland’s much-loved pianist Finghin Collins in a concert performance of Mozart’s Piano Quintet in E flat KV 493 and Fauré’s Piano Quintet in C minor.
In the third concert of the series (Thursday 21st August 1.05pm), Musici Ireland presents a somewhat lighter programme of well-known music from movies such as Cinema Paradiso, James Bond, The Wizard of Oz, The Gadfly, Mishima and Scent of a Woman.
For the last concert in the series (Thursday 28 August 1.05pm), Musici Ireland are joined by renowned Irish pianist Michael McHale and violinist Ioana Petcu-Colan to perform Schubert’s ever popular Trout Quintet. Schubert’s String Trio in B flat Major D471 will also be performed.

View the Flyer here

For further information please contact: Sinead Doyle, Marketing & PR Manager, National Concert Hall, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2 Tel: 01 417 0057/087 1775334
Musici Ireland and National Concert Hall Summer Lunchtime Series 2014

Thursday 7 August 1.05pm
Bethan Watkeys, horn
Helena Wood, violin
Anita Vedres, violin
Beth McNinch, viola
Errika Collins, viola
Grainne Hope, cello
Stanford Fantasy for Horn and String Quartet in A Minor
Mozart String Quartet No.4 in C K.157
Mozart Horn Quintet
Thursday 14 August, 1.05pm
Finghin Collins, piano
Joanne Quigley, violin
Beth McNinch, viola
Grainne Hope, cello
Mozart Piano Quartet in E flat KV 493
Fauré Piano Quartet in C Minor
Thursday 21st August, 1.05pm
Helena Wood, violin
Joanne Quigley, violin
Beth McNinch, viola
Grainne Hope, cello
Thursday 28 August, 1.05pm
Michael McHale, piano
Ioana Petcu Colon, violin
Beth McNinch, viola
Grainne Hope, cello
Sarah Halpin, double-bass
Schubert String Trio in B flat Major D471
Schubert Trout Quintet
Tickets: €15 (Concessions €10)
20% discount for Friends of the NCH and Young Maestros.
Group discount available also.
Presented by the National Concert Hall.
National Concert Hall Box Office Tel: 01 417 00 00 or www.nch.ie