Order for
Your shopping cart is empty.
Login What's On

Jerome Hynes Young Composers' Award

Alex Dowling and Amanda Feery 2013 winners
The National Concert Hall invites composers to apply for the Jerome Hynes Young Composers’ Award 2016.

This award is for the commission of a new work for soprano and piano. As part of the commissioning process, the composer has the unique opportunity to work collaboratively with the 2015 Bernadette Greevy Bursary Awardee on this new work. The new work will be premiered during the Bernadette Greevy Bursary Recital in Autumn 2016, giving the young composer a platform to showcase their talent.

  • Entrants must be under the age of 30, and resident or domiciled in Ireland
  • Entrants must submit the scores of two existing pieces at least one of which must be for voice and piano
  • Scores may be submitted in either hard copy (thee copies), by post or in pdf by email to education@nch.ie
  • A completed application form must accompany each entry
  • Entries must be submitted by 5.30pm on Friday, 13 May 2016 to;

Jerome Hynes Young Composers’ Award 2016
Education, Community and Outreach Programme
National Concert Hall
Earlsfort Terrace
Dublin 2
  • An audio recording of the two submitted pieces is ideal but not essential, either on disc to the above address, with the application or as an MP3 files to: education@nch.ie no later than 5.30pm on Friday, 13 May 2016
  • Previous  winners of this competition are not eligible to enter
  • €2,500 will be awarded to the winning composer
  • Only one application per composer will be accepted
  • Judging will be anonymous; the composer’s name will be removed from the manuscript before being given to the judges
  • The judges’ decision is final and is not open to appeal
  • Compositions and recordings cannot not be returned
  • The winning composer will retain the copyright of the commissioned work
Questions relating to the Jerome Hynes Young Composers’ award 2016 can be sent to education@nch.ie

Download Application Form here.